Review: Armsby Abbey

If you haven’t seen it yet, check out the main post!

I was quite impressed with all the different things Armsby Abbey presented to us today. They started with a platter full of various types of breads and cheese. I tried one of the white breads with a slice of goat cheese and topped it with some marmalade. It was an interesting combo and had a nice fresh taste. Following the cheese platter, they brought out some Roasted Beet & Spinach Salad. I was not a fan of this particular item as I don’t necessarily like spinach, however I did enjoy the beets which were quite juicy. Following the salad, came the Grilled Carrots & Parsnips. Not only did this pile of veggies look good, but it tasted amazing too. Again, I’m not the biggest fan of vegetables, however I did enjoy this. The carrots were nice and soft; lightly roasted; and the herbs and grated cheese sprinkled over the top made it even better. Next came Armsby’s signature dish – the Mac ‘n’ Cheese. Apparently this dish has been on the menu since day 1 and includes a mixture of all of the cheeses they offer. After giving it a try, I can see why it is their signature dish. The pasta was coated with smooth, melted cheese, and soft chunks of bread were mixed throughout. You could clearly taste all of the different cheeses. They followed that up with their flatbread pizzas which were no dissappointment. I didn’t have a chance to try out the Sausage and Spinach Flatbread, but I tried the Calabrian Chili one and it was amazing. The thin crust and the chunks of ricotta on top, along with the spicy tomato sauce, made this item by far my favorite. In fact, I couldn’t just have one pizza that pie, I had to have two! And guess what…that’s not all. As if we weren’t already full, they brought out these massive fried chicken legs. The Buttermilk Fried Chicken was excellent and definitely made it onto our top four list. The breading was flaky and seasoned to perfection, while the inside was just as you would want it to be. No dry chicken here! Even though these legs were larger than your average drumstick, all of the meat was moist and cooked thoroughly. Simply-put, the chicken was exceptional. By this point, we were all full, but of course there’s always room for dessert. To top it all off, they brought out some truffles. I wasn’t too impressed with them, but I did like the richness of the chocolate and the soft fruity center. Overall, I enjoyed my time at Armsby Abbey and I hope that some of you will consider stopping in at some point. The food was great, the service was amazing, and come on…I know you would enjoy a pizza that flatbread!

@thingswithf


One thought on “Review: Armsby Abbey

Leave a Reply

